Glass Girl

2Summary:  The ice cold fear I’d felt, not knowing if Wyatt was alive, pressed into the wall with other girls and surrounded by guys who were unspeakably brave, hit my body again in a wave. This was trauma—the gift that keeps on giving.

When Meg Kavanagh finds herself in the unthinkable role of grieving sister, she discovers some harsh truths—parents aren’t perfect, life’s not always sweet, and the dead don’t write back. Worried she might have caused Wyatt’s death, Meg folds her heart into a box. Her famous mom grieves by slowly disappearing, and her dad copes by moving them to a small town in Wyoming.

What she finds in Wyoming blindsides her.

His name is Henry, and he’s a rancher’s son who pulls Meg into his larger-than-life world and shows her that being sensitive is not an excuse to sit this one out. Meg wants to be brave like Henry because the best things in life—like falling in love and finding mercy—require uncommon courage. And Henry has a secret that changes everything.

From YA author Laura Anderson Kurk comes an unconventional and bittersweet story of first love and family ties. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sara Zarr will appreciate Kurk’s authentically imperfect characters and emotional storytelling.

With characters who feel real enough to walk the halls of your high school, Glass Girl sheds light on tenderness, the rush of first love, and the miracle of mercy. (more…)

It’s Complicated

9Summary:  There’s a reason Facebook has the relationship status, “It’s Complicated.” Follow four college roommates, Claire, Palmer, Hannah and Kat as they maneuver crushes, confusion, and the crisis when pushy boys go too far. Complicated as it is, these four friends will pull through, guided by the strength of their friendship and the power of God’s love.

Amazon

Find Laura:    website    twitter    facebook    pinterest

It’s Complicated is told in the point of view of its four main characters telling their individual stories and how they intertwine.  I really like stories that are told from the first person point of view because I feel like it lets you get a closer connection to the character.

Claire and Palmer are the ones I connected with the most.  Not because I have gone through what they did but with the emotion that was conveyed for them.

It’s Complicated is a story of friendship and strength.  These girls come together to hold each other up and see the strength inside themselves.  I’m looking forward to reading the next book to see what else happens to these girls.

This is the first book in the Status Updates series.  The second book is called It’s Over and is out now too.