Perfect Glass

3Summary:  I couldn’t stop crying because it was so intimate, in that way I always thought being physical with him would feel. If someone had walked in they might have thought Henry was barely touching me. I knew the truth of it.
Things get messy when Meg Kavanagh gets involved—first with Jo Russell, the eccentric old artist, and then with Quinn O’Neill, the intriguing loner who can’t hide how he feels about Meg. Her senior year isn’t turning out like she planned it, but sometimes the best parts of life happen in the in-between moments. And Henry will be home soon, right?
He commits to one year in an orphanage that needs him more than he ever dreamed. Thousands of miles from Meg and the new punk who has fallen for her, and absent from the ranch that’s in his blood, Henry Whitmire finds out what it means to trust. When you’re so far from home, it’s terrifying to realize you’re not who you thought. But the perfect glass of calamity makes the best mirror.
An identity crisis, long distance love, new temptation, and growing pains teach Henry and Meg how to hang onto each other and to what really matters.
From YA author Laura Anderson Kurk comes the sequel to Glass Girl, a lyrical, multi-generational story about love that clouds the eyes, loss that haunts empty rooms, and reunions that feel like redemption. (more…)

Here it All Starts

I have had my laptop for a few months now and it is the first time that I have had the option to make a video.  I have been thinking it would be kind of cool to do one.  Then I would think about doing it and what I would talk about.  Then I would chicken out because well….if you know me off line then you know that isn’t really my thing.

Finally I just had to tell myself that it was time to take another step outside my comfort zone.  So, here have the first one.  I had to do it twice.  The first one my throat was suddenly getting dry.  Of course.  It did it again a little in the second attempt and I said “um” a lot.

Pretty sure though that no matter how many time I did it I wasn’t going to really like the outcome.  There was going to be a part of me that didn’t like it.  So, I decided to just post it.  So, I can look at it and say I did it.

So, I did it.  Yeah me!  lol  🙂 (more…)

Find out the college prank that went sour

If you could travel somewhere for “research” for a book where would you go and why?4

This is a beautiful question. It feels luxurious to answer. The book I’m writing now is set in West Virginia and I really want to spend a few weeks there, listening to the cadence of the accent, learning idioms and dialect, and studying mannerisms. Just getting to know the good, strong people there. So, that should be my answer, right? Except you didn’t put any limits on me, so I feel like casting my net wider. I would say Ireland. I’ve always wanted to go. Scotland is the closest I’ve been and I felt really pulled to go west and hop on over to Ireland but didn’t have time. I talk about Irish music a lot in Perfect Glass. One side of my family came to America from Ireland and I’m fascinated with that branch of the tree. I could definitely set a book there if you twisted my arm.

 

Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?

For me, it has always been, and will always be, about the characters. I write character-driven stories so their backgrounds and emotions and thoughts usually trump plotting issues in my mind. I can get a whole book written in my head and then realize I need to be more linear with a plot. So then, while writing, I concentrate hard on getting my character from point A to point B. Usually she (or he) begs me to go to point X or point D first. Sometimes they want to bring their friends along for the ride and character development gets even sticker. But after a few passes, I land them where they’re supposed to land. (more…)

Character Chat: Perfect Glass

3Meg and Henry, I want to thank you both for stopping by and answering some questions to let us get to know you some more.  I also want to thank you for sharing your story.  I know that for me it felt like an emotional roller coaster so I can only imagine what it really felt like for you two actually going through it all.

How about a couple of little known facts about you?

Henry – Um . . . my three older sisters used to put dresses on me when I was a baby. There are some unfortunate pictures that remain. And I grew this tall – 6’3” – in seventh grade. I was like mutant boy trying to make it down the hallway without crushing everyone else. I had no control over my limbs. Kids cowered in fear.

Meg – That’s adorable and creepy at the same time, Henry. I think, given the circumstances, people pretty much know all my secrets. But they probably don’t know that from the time I was three until I was probably twelve or thirteen, I snuck into Wyatt’s room at night to sleep because I was scared of the dark. He kept my sleeping bag under his bed for me and he never told a soul. I got up before anyone else and snuck back to my room. Also . . . I once went a month during the winter without shaving because I wanted to see how bad it would get. It got bad. (more…)

Glass Girl

2Summary:  The ice cold fear I’d felt, not knowing if Wyatt was alive, pressed into the wall with other girls and surrounded by guys who were unspeakably brave, hit my body again in a wave. This was trauma—the gift that keeps on giving.

When Meg Kavanagh finds herself in the unthinkable role of grieving sister, she discovers some harsh truths—parents aren’t perfect, life’s not always sweet, and the dead don’t write back. Worried she might have caused Wyatt’s death, Meg folds her heart into a box. Her famous mom grieves by slowly disappearing, and her dad copes by moving them to a small town in Wyoming.

What she finds in Wyoming blindsides her.

His name is Henry, and he’s a rancher’s son who pulls Meg into his larger-than-life world and shows her that being sensitive is not an excuse to sit this one out. Meg wants to be brave like Henry because the best things in life—like falling in love and finding mercy—require uncommon courage. And Henry has a secret that changes everything.

From YA author Laura Anderson Kurk comes an unconventional and bittersweet story of first love and family ties. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sara Zarr will appreciate Kurk’s authentically imperfect characters and emotional storytelling.

With characters who feel real enough to walk the halls of your high school, Glass Girl sheds light on tenderness, the rush of first love, and the miracle of mercy. (more…)

Playlist Fiction

11Playlist Fiction.  What first comes to mind when you read that?  I know that the first time I was approached about it I was intrigued.  I was curious what it meant and what was involved.

 

Music has always been important to me. Different song, beats, lyrics are all like the soundtrack to your life.  Music helps me to focus at work, can help lift me up when needed.  Sometimes most importantly can bring on a memory.  The lyrics or the artist voice can bring on emotions from being happy, excited to a few tears.  If you can’t tell I can tend to just go into my own little world when I’m listening to music. 

 

The other way to go into another world, to feel someone else’s love, happiness, anger, tears and heartache is to read.  I wasn’t necessarily a big reader growing up.  I would read just not all the time.  Then when I was a student worker in the financial aid office a co-worker and I talked about books.  We loved the fantasy and just being able to escape “our world”.  I remember telling her how I LOVED Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti.  (If you haven’t read anything by either, YOU MUST. I love the worlds they create.)  We also talked about vampires and things of the supernatural world like L.J. Smith.  She told me on a few occasions that I need to check out Twilight.  It seemed to spark this new thing in me to want to read more and more. 

 

I talk about this in two different ways because yes, there is a point.  I promise.  😉  (more…)